rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Y2K/Welsh Rally Retro 2008

Clwb Modur Cymru

29th/30th November 2008

Clerk of the Course: James Chappelle

Route: 180 Miles

Maps: 146. 147, 159, 160 & 161

Starters: 44

Winners: Jonty Bloxham/Nick Bloxham (Peugeot 106 GTi)

Having secured the ANWCC title the previous weekend, Jonty Bloxham/Nick Bloxham rounded the year off in style by taking their maiden rally win on the last round of the championship.

As usual on this event all crews picked up some penalties on the opening Jogularity sections, but for most this was only a few seconds. It was then a battle to keep on schedule through the remaining 45 time controls. Only two crews managed the latter feat, these being Bloxham/Bloxham and the Astra GTE of Nigel Nelson/Rob Richardson, the latter crew benefitting from a reliability provided by a new gearbox, previously the car’s weak point.

Will Arrowsmith/Ceri Davies had led at the first petrol halt but fell back to third after dropping a minute at TC21, which was just south of Brechfa Forest.

Keith Jenkins/Tony Brooks were seventh overall in their Saab 96 and won the rather poorly support Welsh Rally Retrospective.