rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Barcud Road Rally

Sponsored by T D Davies & Son

Barcud Motor Club

8th/9th August 2009

Clerk of the Course: Paul Rooke & Paul Jones

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Steve Woods/Aled Richards (Peugeot 206)

Steve Woods/Aled Richards took a comfortable win on the T D Davies & Son Barcud Rally, after the leaders at Petrol, Arwel Hughes-Jones/Dylan John Williams, retired.

Hughes-Jones/Williams were quick out of the blocks, taking a time 47 seconds faster than any other crew at the first time control. However Woods/Richards put the pressure on and had reduced the deficit to just two seconds at Petrol. The battle was over soon afterwards when Hughes-Jones clipped a concrete ramp in a farmyard and broke the steering.

Woods/Richards maintained their pace - they were the quickest crew over the second half - and claimed victory.

Barry Jones/Steven Hicks had been in fourth at Petrol in their Duratec-engined Escort, but a time just a second slower than the winners in the second half saw them move up to the runner up spot at the Finish.

Adrian Jones/Dylan Jenkins took third in their Impreza, just two seconds ahead of Hywel Davies/Richard Morris, who took maximum ANWCC points for the event.

Gwyn Jones/Greg Leeman led the Semi-Expert class at halfway from Darren Hunt/Clive Jones, but a clear run in the second half saw the latter crew turn the tables and take the class win.

Andrew Edwards/Paul Davies, who took up a very late entry, had a clear lead in the novice category at Petrol but they retired after the break. Richard Williams/Steffan Jones should have taken over the position but they picked up a fail for missing an ITC and this gave Huw Jones/Darren Williams the class win.