rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Breidden Road Rally

Sponsored by TA Gittins, Chartered Accountants

Welsh Border Car Club

3rd/4th October 2009

Clerk of the Course: Dave Evison & Allen Hart

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 125, 126 & 136

Starters: 89

Winners: Glyn Price/Dylan Jenkins (Ford Escort)

While their main rivals hit problems Glyn Price/Dylan Jenkins survived the Breidden Rally to take victory with an almost four minute winning margin.

Two of the top three seeds went out within the first few miles. Last year’s winners Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Wyn Roberts broke a shaft after hitting a rock, while Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones collided with a tree on a section through Mick Jones’ Timber Yard. This latter retirement was significant for the Welsh Championship series, of which the Breidden was the penultimate round, it meant that Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss could clinch the title with a good finish.

Things seemed to be going their way when they led initially and then were fortunate that time lost with a visit to a ditch didn’t count after the section was scrubbed. They appeared to have secured victory but were then excluded for a give way infringement.

In a rally of further dramatic reversals, Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price would have won but lost over five minutes with a puncture in the second half, they finished in third.

All this excitement meant that Price/Jenkins were the sole crew to combine pace and consistency and therefore took the win. Hywel Davies/Martin Phasey were the runner ups and took the Expert Class win.

After a number of mechanical failures on previous events, Richard James/Nigel Davies finally managed a results they’d been threatening all year, when they finished in eighth place and won the Semi-Expert category.

Novice crews competed over a slightly shorter route and that rally was won by Andy Acott/Richard Bestwick with a winning margin of twelve minutes.