rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Caron

Sponsored by Will Evans & Sons Plant Hire and Darren Thomas Gwaith Saer

Lampeter & District Motor Club

21st/22nd February 2009

Clerk of the Course: Keith Daniels & Aneurin James

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 146 & 147

Starters: 90

Winners: Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss (Ford Escort)

Young hot shots Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss showed their more experienced rivals a clean pair of heels as they took a comfortable win on a highly competitive Bro Caron.

Davies’ father Gary was seeking a fifth straight win on the event, while is navigator Dorian Evans was looking for his hat trick as winner. However their rally was destined to be a short one as contact with a rock broke a bottom arm within a mile of the start.

Phil Evans/Dilwyn John had built up a 20 second lead at Petrol and would have gone on to take victory but they booked in early at a TC and incurred a fail. Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones should then have taken the lead but an electrical fault halted their Escort for five agonising minutes, they eventually finished in ninth.

Peter Collins/Llinos Jones, competing in an Astra borrowed from Martyn O’Connor, were in third at Petrol, with Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh in fourth and the eventual winners in fifth. These positions were reversed in the second half as these crews took the top three places.

John Davies/Eurig Davies had been expected to go well, but they went out of the rally after going off the road causing the section to be scrubbed.

Renault stalwarts Delfryn Owens/Jeff James were the leading Expert crew throughout the night and finished in eighth place overall. Richard Jones/Andrew Gaunt led the Semi-Expert class until they booked in early at TC26, this allowed Arwyn Williams/Angharad Davies through to take the category win.