rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Cambrian Road Rally

Sponsored by Caron Taxis

Tregaron & District Motor Club

17th/18th January 2009

Clerk of the Course: Wyn Jones

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 135, 146 & 147

Starters: 69

Winners: Steve Woods/Aled Richards (Peugeot 206 XSi)

The 2008 Welsh Champions, Steve Woods/Aled Richards, started 2009 in winning ways, taking victory on the Cambrian. The event was run in challenging wintery conditions, which saw only 33 of the 69 starters make the finish.

Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss might have taken the win but for a minute lost when they became stuck on a section through the old mine workings. The first two crews were well clear of the field but only one second separated Merfyn Hughes/Dylan John Williams in third from Robert Evans/Nick Bloxham in fourth.

Gareth Evans/Robert Walters had held second at Petrol but dropped to ninth at the Finish after a wrong slot.

Clive Williams/Richard Morris were in second place when they became stuck after taking the incorrect track where the high winds had blown down tape that blocked off the wrong route. Nick Evans/Edwin Venville encountered the same problem at that point and lost six minutes.