rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Carpetbagger Rally

Road Rally Register

24th/25th January 2009

Clerk of the Course: Roger Hunt

Route: 190 Miles

Maps: 181, 192 & 193

Starters: 58

Winners: Owen Turner/Graham Raeburn (Rover Metro)

After a number of attempts, Owen Turner/Graham Raeburn finally managed to win the Carpetbagger at the weekend. The victory was taken despite the pair going off the road at one point and having to be pulled back on by one of their rivals. The incident occurred while their rescuers, Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie actually held the lead.

Hawkins/Tullie were then to suffer their own woes; they failed to make the finish after an unfortunate collision with another front running crew, Frank Evans/Paul Taylor.

Stewart Merry, navigating for Steve Head, was looking to make it a hat trick of Carpetbagger wins. They would have won but for a mechanical problem which saw them leave the final fuel halt eight minutes late, the resultant penalty dropped them to fifth.

John Davies/Dylan Jenkins were less than a minute behind the winners at the Finish, they were left ruing a five minute wrong slot just before the first petrol halt.