rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JJ Brown Memorial Rally

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

5th/6th December 2009

Clerk of the Course: Rhys Morgan

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 115 & 123

Starters: 60

Winners: Arwel 'Sbidi' Hughes Jones/Huw Rhys Manion (Ford Escort)

Arwel Hughes Jones/Huw Rhys Manion won a JJ Brown Memorial Rally that had to be stopped just after the petrol halt after the intervention of the police.

The constabulary were unhappy with the driving behaviour of both spectators and competitors and put severe pressure on the unfortunate organisers to halt the event. The results were therefore determined after only four of the intended eight sections had been completed, although most competitors reached the end of the fifth test.

Despite not getting fully into their stride, Hughes-Jones/Manion were the only crew to still be clean at ITC2. This meant that they arrived at Petrol with a 12 second lead and, with everyone cleaning the fourth and final test, this was their eventually winning margin.

Dyfed Pritchard/Aled Pennant were the most fortunate crew of the night. They were within striking distance of the lead when the steering rack on their 205 broke on the fifth section, however, as this eventually turned out to be after the premature end of the rally, they retained the runner up spot in the final standings.

Steven John Williams/Lowri Davies in Car 2 had a short event when they suffered a broken strut on their Escort.