rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

PK Memorial Rally

Sponsored by Polyroof

Bala & District Motor Club

27th/28th June 2009

Clerk of the Course: Roger Evans

Route: 165 Miles

Maps: 116 & 125

Starters: 84

Winners: Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones won the PK Memorial Rally having dropped time at just five of the possible 29 controls on the event.

The rally opened in the evening with a number of regularity sections through local forests, including Aberhirnant and Penllyn. Seven crews emerged from these tests clean of any penalties.

The night sections quickly sorted out the clean sheets, it was now that Jerman/Jones showed that they were the crew to beat. By the time they arrived at Petrol, they were half a minute ahead and they almost tripled this margin by the time they got to the Finish.

Mei Jones/Wyn Roberts took second, with Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss in third. This result put Davies/Furniss back at the head of the Welsh Championship.

Top seeds Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price were off the pace all night and finished in eighth position.

Steven John Williams, with Gwawr Hughes on the maps, was aiming to make it three wins in as many weekends, but a time consuming off cost them eleven minutes. This incident delayed a number of other crews, including Howard Price/Carl Williamson.

Richard James/Nigel Davies had been one of the crews clean after the evening sections, they maintained their pace in the MG ZR to take the Semi-Expert class by over ten minutes. Elgan Morris/Glyn Jones were equally dominant in the Novice category, leading the class all night.