rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Pacemaker Road Rally

Sponsored by Naughton Motors of Knighton

Knighton Motor Club

11th/12th July 2009

Clerk of the Course: Steve Price

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 137 & 148

Starters: 76

Winners: Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss (Ford Escort)

Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss threw down the gauntlet to their Welsh Championship rivals by taking a dominant win on the Pacemaker. The pair hit the front at the end of the 20 mile opening section and then drew away just before the petrol halt with a succession of fastest times, one where they were a minute quicker than any other crew. They finished almost four minutes ahead of the field.

Steven John Williams/Dylan John Williams nabbed second at the very last control from Nic Morris/Graham Dance. The latter crew had led early on but then had to contend with a broken rear strut.

Simon Naughton/Gareth Thomas took fourth overall and were the first Expert crew on their home event.

Richard James/Nigel Davies had put their MG ZR into the lead at ITC4, early in the first section. They would have gone on to finish in ninth, the easy winners of the Semi-Expert class, but lost 13 minutes when a drive shaft broke on the approach to the very final time control.

Top seeds Richard Jerman/Stewart Merry finished ninth having been as low as 52nd after a lengthy wrong slot on the opening section. Mei Jones/Carl Jones had made a strong start but were quickly sidelined with gearbox problems.