rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Mon

Sponsored by AFG

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

19th/20th September 2009

Clerk of the Course: Gruffydd Parry

Route: 145 Miles

Maps: 114

Starters: 74

Winners: Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss (Ford Escort)

Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss totally dominated the AFG Rali Môn, finishing the event over eight minutes ahead of the opposition, having dropped just under six minutes themselves.

This was the first time in almost 20 years that the Welsh Championship had visited Anglesey and the unfamiliar lanes proved a tough challenge for the competitors.

Davies/Furniss arrived at the petrol halt with a lead of four minutes, however they were running late and only two minutes from their maximum limit. Their Escort had suffered a broken fan belt and 21 minutes were lost changing it, fortunately they were able to do this in a neutral section and therefore no penalties were incurred. They maintained their pace in the second half and came home to a result which keeps them at the top of the Welsh series.

Hywel Davies/Richard Morris moved from third at Petrol to a comfortable second place at the Finish. A storming second half saw Merfyn Hughes/Dylan Jenkins, who had been ninth at the halfway point, finish in third.

Arwel Hughes-Jones/Dylan John Williams had led initially but their run came to an end on the second section when their Escort suffered a head gasket failure. Top seeds Mei Jones/Llinos Jones were also out early on after a engine mounting broke on their Astra.

James Morgan/Dale Bowen held second place at Petrol but fell to sixth at the Finish after inflicting damage on their Micra. Tim Powley/Leigh Powley were in fourth when they went out with clutch failure.