rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Sarn Helen Rally

Sponsored by The Black Lion Royal Hotel

Lampeter & District Motor Club

17th/18th October 2009

Clerk of the Course: Dorian Evans

Route: 104 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 90

Winners: John Davies/Eurig Davies (Vauxhall Astra)

John Davies/Eurig Davies emerged from a tight battle for the lead to take victory on the Sarn Helen Rally. They led for almost the rally but their advantage throughout was never more than a few seconds.

Lampeter & DMC had resurrected the Sarn Helen name for their Autumn rally. They having previously run the fixture in the area between the club’s hometown and Aberaeron. This year the route was mostly to the South of Lampeter, the home territory of the former MN qualifier.

Car 64, Huw Jones/Darren Williams, were the surprise leaders after the short opening test, stopping the clock two seconds ahead of Davies/Davies. They fell to 20th after the next section but went on to finish in 21st place and taking a class award.

The winners took the lead, that they weren’t to lose, after the second section and by Petrol they were 21 seconds ahead of Phil Evans/Dilwyn John, with Kevin Davies/Aled Jones and Adrian Jones/Dylan Jenkins close behind. These positions weren’t to change for the rest of the event, although Evans/John narrowed the gap to the leaders to just 8 seconds at the Finish.

A number of fancied runners went out of the event at an early stage. Most notable amongst these were Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones, they suffered a broken clutch pedal, and Daniel Jones/Graham Dance, who lost the brakes on their Escort. Both these retirements occurred on the second section. Steve Wood/Aled Richards arrived at Petrol in fifth place but withdrew at the halt with a broken engine mounting.

Two of these failures had a significant effect on the Inter Association Challenge, as Jerman/Jones and Wood/Richards were two of the three crews representing Wales.

This left the battle for the IA title to be fought out between London Counties and the North Western teams. For the latter Jonty Bloxham/Nick Bloxham finished in sixth, with team mates Leigh Powley/Tim Powley one place further back. However the third crew Michael Pedley/David Pedley had been delayed by rotor arm problems, their problems meant that the team’s total penalties were more than that of the triumphant London Counties, who were represented by Owen Turner/Matt Fowle, Mike Biss/Dan Harrison and Derek Newbould/James Newbould.