rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Automark Novice Rally

Clwyd Vale Motor Club

26th/27th May 2012

Clerk of the Course: Stuart Thomas & Al Hayward

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 116 & 117

Starters: 40

Winners: Justin Thomas/Owen Morgan (Ford Puma)

The Beginners Class crew of Justin Thomas/Owen Morgan took the win on The Automark Novice Rally. The pair held a healthy lead at Petrol but dropped a minute to Paul Holmberg/Sarah Holmberg on a tight farmyard section in the second half. This allowed the father and daughter team to move in front. However a wrong slot on the final section cost Holmberg/Holmberg over 40 seconds thus Thomas/Morgan found themselves the winners by 15 seconds.

Justin Sharples/Steve Griffith had held second at the halfway point on a furthest clean tie break but fell to third at the Finish. Brynmor Pierce/David Forrester took fourth place and the Beginners Award despite, due to electrical problems, having to navigate by torchlight.

Semi-Expert Crews competed but weren’t eligible for overall awards. The class was won by Nick Banks/Reg Gradden who would have been third if classified.