rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

20th Anniversary Barcud Road Rally

Sponsored by Voodoo Graphics

Barcud Motor Club

4th/5th August 2012

Clerk of the Course: Paul Rooke, Paul Jones & Aled Wyn Jones

Route: 95 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 71

Winners: Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones took their sixth win of the year on the Barcud Rally. The pair dropped less than a minute after two sections had to be cancelled due to cars going off and blocking tracks in the wet conditions.

Daniel Jones/Dale Bowen led the winners by two seconds at the petrol halt but Evans/Jones beat them by 14 seconds on the one section where they dropped time in the second half. The result means that Evans/Jones have now taken maximum points on four occasions in the ANWCC championship, with eight scores to count. John Leckie, who finished 22nd, currently leads the series.

Top seeds Hywel Davies/Nick Bloxham finished in third, twenty seconds further back, having moved up from seventh at the halfway mark.

Steven John Williams/Aled Richards had their Escort grind to a halt with electrical problems on an early section. Llyr Williams/Ceri Hughes and Stefan Davies/Eurig Evans both went out after contact with the scenery. The latter crew blocking the road and causing the cancellation of that section.

The Novice crew of Rhodri Evans/Clare Williams held a remarkable third place at Petrol but a missed PC in the second half saw them fall well down the final finishing order.