rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Breidden Road Rally

Sponsored by TA Gittins, Chartered Accountants

Welsh Border Car Club

6th/7th October 2012

Clerk of the Course: Neil Spiers

Route: 125 Miles

Maps: 125, 126 & 136

Starters: 85

Winners: Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones kept the outcome of this year’s Welsh Championship on a knife edge by securing victory on The Breidden Road Rally. With one round remaining they trail Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies by three points but the latter crew, due to dropped scores, can only add no more than four points to their tally while Evans/Jones have up to ten points available to them.

Despite stating before the event that their aim was simply to get a good finish, Evans/Jones set a blistering pace from the off. Fastest over the first section, they led by almost a minute at Petrol and finished the rally two minutes ahead of the field.

Phil Turner/Dale Bowen finished second and may have been closer but for a few overshoots and a misfire towards the end of the event.

Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins were third just beating Jerman/Davies by two seconds and in so doing deprived the latter crew of what might be two vital Welsh Championship points. Last year’s winners Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes finished in fifth place.

This was a rally for grownups with only 48 of the 85 starters making the finish; none of the Novices made it to halfway.