rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Caron

Sponsored by C P Electrics

Lampeter & District Motor Club

18th/19th February 2012

Clerk of the Course: George Eadon

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 80

Winners: Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

By taking victory on the Rali Bro Caron, their second win within a week, Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones have established themselves as the crew to beat this year.

The pair led all night, establishing a lead at TC5, the first control at which all top crews dropped time. By Petrol, two-thirds of the way through the event, they were 25 seconds up on Sean Crowley/Dorian Evans. The latter pair did manage to narrow the gap by six seconds at the Finish as Evans/Jones suffered a couple of overshoots.

However it wasn’t enough to prevent Evans making the best possible start to retaining his Welsh Championship title.

Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies led the pack home, but over a minute behind Crowley/Evans.

Steffan Davies/Dale Bowen had been expected to feature at the front but they were an early retirement as their Escort developed a misfire.

A sharp snow storm towards the end of the rally caused difficulties for the latter half of the field. The organisers therefore took the decision to determine results on penalties up to the control preceding the section which caused the delay. This was the second time in three years that the Bro Caron had been cut short by snow.