rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Eagle Road Rally

Sponsored by Nigel Pugh Motor Engineering & Viking Motorsport

Newtown & District Auto Club

2nd/3rd June 2012

Clerk of the Course: Gareth Morgan & Wayne Jones

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 136

Starters: 67

Winners: Iwan Pritchard/Gwawr Hughes (Ford Escort)

After losing a win in 2011 on a tie break, Iwan Pritchard/Gwawr Hughes made no mistake in 2012 when they took a dominant victory on the Eagle Road Rally, a repeat of their 2010 success.

Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Shaun O’Gorman were second, over four minutes behind thanks to a time consuming late wrong slot. The leading Expert crew of Tim Powley/Max Freeman were a further minute down in third.

Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones, Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies and Jamie Jukes/Dilwyn John were the leading crews at Petrol however all became victims of their pace in the second half, all retiring after contact with the scenery.

Rob Francis/Steve Mills would have taken the Semi-Expert class win but for a fail after booking in early, this allowed Rhys Morris/Aled Wyn Jones through for the category award.

Top seeds Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price retired at the quarter distance mark with a broken water hose, while Hywel Davies/Nick Bloxham suffered a gearbox failure on their Escort.