rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Gremlin Rally

Sponsored by Old Forge Garage

Brecon Motor Club

3rd/4th March 2012

Clerk of the Course: Craig Jones

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 148, 160 & 161

Starters: 66

Winners: Will Arrowsmith/Ceri Davies (Ford Escort)

Even allowing for their local knowledge Will Arrowsmith/Ceri Davies put on a stunning display as they trounced the opposition on the Gremlin Rally. The pair dropped less than a minute all night and cleaned the last three quarters of the rally. This allowed them to finish over a minute ahead of season pace setters Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones.

For the latter crew there was the consolation of taking top Welsh Championship points as the winners were not registered for the series. This means that Evans/Jones have a maximum points tally after the first two WAMC rounds. Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies took third, the same position as they achieved on the Bro Caron.

Former Welsh Champion John Davies admitting to still be rusty after a long period of only occasional outings. He finished in fifth.

Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price had a problematic night which including losing time getting stuck on a triangle control.

While the winners almost cleaned the event, the lower numbers struggled. Only four novice crews were classified as finishers and none of these were fail free.

The rally suffered from a heavy police presence, with a number of crews being cautioned for various infringements. This was despite a meeting that the organisers had with senior offices prior to the event where a close dialogue and cooperation had been promised.