rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

21st Leukaemia Historic Rally

Ecurie Cymraeg

12th May 2012

Clerk of the Course: Steve Durbin

Route: 160 Miles + 18 Tests

Maps: 161 & 171

Starters: 53

Winners: Martin Neal/Richard Dix (Ford Escort Mexico)

Martin Neal/Richard Dix became the fourth winners in four rounds of the HRCR Clubmans Championship; they won a close contest on the Leukaemia Historic Rally. After 18 Tests and seven Regularities six crews were separated by less than a minute. None of the tests were at Caerwent which has been the meat of the event in the past.

Dave Harris/Matt Fowle led at the lunch halt but retired in the afternoon with a suspected head gasket failure. Neal/Dix moved from fifth at halfway to head the relatively inexperienced crew of Matthew Warren/Jessica Dickenson by 18 seconds at the Finish. James Griffiths/James Howell took third just two seconds off the runner up spot.

Simon Harris/Russell Joseph easily won the Leukaemia Endurance Rally on what was the navigator’s first Regularity event for five years. Their penalties were only two seconds less than Neal/Dix in the Historic Rally.