rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Mid Wales Stages

Sponsored by Rally Marketing

Newtown & District Automobile Club

4th March 2012

Clerk of the Course: Chris Tomley

Stages (Historic): 5 Stages (48 Stage Miles)

Stages (Clubman): 4 Stages (43 Stage Miles)

Location: Hafren, Sweet Lamb & Myherin

Starters: Clubman: 47, Historic:


Category 1 Results

Category 2 Results

Category 3 Results


Tom Cave/Craig Parry put their first stage retirement on the previous day’s Malcolm Wilson Stages behind them as they took an untroubled win on the Mid Wales Stages. Their second successive victory on the event.

Fastest on all four of the event’s stages, Cave was 11 seconds quicker than his nearest rival on the first test, two on the second, 18 on 14 mile Hafren South and 11 on the final stage. This gave him a winning margin of almost a minute.

In contrast there was a tight struggle for the runner up position. Matt Edwards/Sam Collis held an advantage of eight seconds with only the last stage, Hafren North, to run. However they couldn’t maintain the position, this allowed Sebastian Ling/Aled Rees through to take the runner up sport by three seconds.

Joe Price/Christopher Brooks won the Martin Lewis Trophy for being the first 2WD crew home. They finished in fifth place overall, a superb if not entirely unexpected performance. Prior to the rally it was anticipated that Price would find himself in a battle for 2WD honours with Ieaun Rowlands, however Rowlands had a short event. He and co-driver Emyr Hall suffered a puncture on SS2, the first test for the Modern entry, and then had the gearbox fail on SS3.

Geraint Mills/Jonny ‘Tad’ Evans had an even shorter rally. Their Manta ground to halt after just 100 yards with an ECU failure. This was fixed and they rejoined the stage only to go off the road and damage their steering a little further along.

Richard Edwards/Gareth Edwards had to rebuild their Escort’s suspension just prior to the rally, having to replace a failed Proflex set up with well worn Bilsteins. Despite this set back they came through to take the E4 Class win.

Hefin Lloyd-Davies/Mark Lewis took a dominant win in the under 1400cc category, finishing in 23rd position overall, six minutes ahead of their nearest rivals. Sean Bannister/Paul Williams had an equally emphatic success in Class E2, taking their Citroen C2 to 29th overall, three minutes clear of Bard Axon/Jonathan Shearing in their Toyota Corolla.