rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Night Owl Rally

Sponsored by E&M Motor Factors

Aberystwyth & District Motor Club

28th/29th April 2012

Clerk of the Course: Phil Ralphs

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 135

Starters: 90

Winners: Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies (Ford Escort)

Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies got their Welsh Championship campaign back on track after winning the Night Owl Rally. They ended almost a minute and a half ahead of the field but were fortunate to finish after cracking their Escort’s sump towards the end of the rally. A top up of oil saw them complete the route.

Their task was made slightly easier by the retirement of two rivals. Top seeds Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones had a short rally as their Escort suffered gearbox failure. Kevin Morgan/Dai Richards held a narrow lead over Jerman/Davies at Petrol but they also succumbed to gearbox gremlins soon after the restart.

Irfon Richards/Dale Bowen took the runner up spot, just ahead of Hywel Davies/Nick Bloxham. The latter crew feeling that they might have made second place but for vital seconds lost at one control when a marshal’s pen stopped working.

Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price, Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes and Adrian Jones/Dylan Jenkins all dropped down the order after picking up punctures on the final white of the event.