rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Powys Lanes Rally

Sponsored by DG Jones Agri Ltd

Epynt Motor Club

29th/30th September 2012

Clerk of the Course: Ceri Davies & Doody Farmer

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 147, 148 & 161

Starters: 46

Winners: Steve Davies/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort)

Former Motoring News Championship front runner Steve Davies made a triumphant return to the winners circle when he and navigator, WRC contender Carl Williamson, won the Powys Lanes Rally.

The pair finished 34 seconds ahead of Wyn Owens/Jenny Evans having moved up from sixth at the halfway point. Steve King, another MN Championship regular, finished in third with Jon Hawkins on the maps.

The event ended in controversy as Irfon Richard/Michael Gilbey were excluded for illegal servicing. They had led by a minute at Petrol and would have won by over four minutes but for the transgression at the halfway halt.

It wasn’t a good night for the highest placed starters: Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Herbert lost time when they went off the road on a track, this meant that they were only in ninth at Petrol, they retired with a broken shaft in the second half. The same failure ended the run of Jamie Jukes/Edryd Evans, while John Davies/Dale Bowen lost out on a possible victory when they went off.

Craig Judd/Paul Tod missed a certain win after they picked up a fail for booking in early at the first control after Petrol.