rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Llyn

Sponsored by Express Motors (Commercial)

Harlech & District Motor Club

24th/25th March 2012

Clerk of the Course: Dafydd Evans

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 75

Winners: Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones made it four wins in 2012 as they became the first non-local crew in 20 years to win the Rali Llyn. However despite being the current top guns they were once again made to fight for the victory.

Thanks to a 10 second penalty for an incorrectly letter on a code board they had arrived at Petrol one second behind top seeds Arwel ‘Sbidi’ Hughes-Jones/Edryd Evans. This challenge disappeared soon after the restart as the gearbox on Hughes-Jones’s Escort failed.

Steve Roberts/Dale Bowen then took up the chase. Faster than the winners on two sections in the second half they still were 15 seconds down at the Finish. Another strong performance from Iwan Pritchard/Ceri Hughes saw them take third.

Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins struggled all night with a slipping clutch and could only make sixth place.

Huw Rhys Manion/Meic Roberts dominated the Novice Class finishing nine minutes ahead of their nearest rivals and securing tenth place. The Semi-Expert Class winners, Wil Evans/Ian Jones, were just one place further back with a similar healthy lead in their category.

Mei Jones/Dylan John Williams were the first retirees of the night, failing to make the start after a crankshaft seal failed after scrutineering.