rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

21st Ross Traders Historic Rally

Ross & District Motor Sports Club

21st July 2012

Clerk of the Course: Will Rogers

Route: 170 Miles + 15 Tests

Maps: 161, 162 & 171

Starters: 44

Winners: Howard Warren/Iain Tullie (Porsche 911)

Howard Warren/Iain Tullie took their second HRCR Clubmans win of the year on the Ross Traders Historic Tour.

Despite the usual demanding navigation, the top crews picked up very few penalties on the regularities and were separated by seconds on the tests. It was therefore a case of maintaining a consistently high performance throughout the event to achieve success.

After the first of six regularity sections and three tests at the Whitfield Estate, it was John Ruddock/David Taylor who held the advantage over Worth Birkhill/Cath Woodman, with the eventual winners in third.

By the lunch halt Warren/Tullie had moved up a place and were now 11 seconds behind Ruddock/Taylor. The Porsche crew took the lead on the penultimate regularity of the day and consolidated it through the tests at Chepstow Racecourse, a venue new to the Ross Traders. They maintained their lead over the last regularity and a second visit to Chepstow to eventually finish with a 22 second victory margin. Fittingly, of all the crews, they had both picked up least penalties on the regularities and were fastest through the event’s 15 tests.

Ruddock/Taylor took the runner up spot, while Birkhill/Woodman were third and picked up the prize for the first front wheel drive car home. Ian Crammond/Andy Gibson threw their large Mercedes around the tests to secure fourth.

Championship front runners Martin Neal/Richard Dix finished in 15th place after missing a route check, however they still retain lead in the title race. Jim Deacon/Ian Doble recovered from navigational difficulties on the first regularity to finish in eighth.

A notable performance came from the leading novice crew of Stephen Hall/Duncan Brown, they brought their Lotus Elan into tenth place. Andrew Mallagh/Paul Harley were third fastest on total time through the tests and took the E1 class win.