rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Ystwyth Targa Rally

Sponsored by Cwrt Garage

Abersytwyth & District Motor Club

8th July 2012

Clerk of the Course: Phil Ralphs

Tests: 12 (60 Miles)

Venue: Sweet Lamb

Starters: 75

Winners: Irfon Richards/Andrew Edwards (Ford Escort)

Irfon Richards repeated his 2008 success on the Ystwyth Rally. He and navigator Andrew Edwards took a last minute win after long time leaders Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones retired on the final test of the day.

The two crews had been just seconds apart throughout the event but, as the eventually winners struggled with a slight misfire, Evans/Jones had the upper hand. However their Escort ground to a halt with a failed coil pack within sight of the Finish.

Two relatively inexperienced crews, Andy Davies/Lee Taylor and Gareth Jones/Aron Jones took second and third.

Barry Jones/Arfon Griffiths were within in touch of the leaders when their Escort suffered a mechanical fault on the third of the rally’s four sections. Former winner Brian Jones, who had Sweet Lamb debutant Michael Hardwick on the maps, struggled all day with brake problems.