rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

1000 Lanes Rally

Sponsored by J P Tod Commercials of Abergavenny

Heads of the Valleys Auto Club

2nd/3rd March 2013

Clerk of the Course: Matthew Maidment & Paul Tod

Route: 125 Miles

Maps: 160 & 161

Starters: 67

Winners: Dyfrig James/Emyr Jones (Ford Escort)

Dyfrig James took his maiden rally win when he and his highly experienced navigator Emyr Jones finished in the top spot on the 1000 Lanes Road Rally. They had moved from third place at Petrol, which was taken at two-thirds distance, to the lead at the Finish. They sealed the result by being the only crew to clean the final section. Stefan ‘DR’ Davies/Dafydd Evans finished in second place.

The event was the opening round of this year’s Welsh Championship and it looked for most of the night as if the reigning champions Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones would continue in their winning ways. They set the pace from the off and held a 29 second lead at Petrol. However shortly after the restart they were held up for over a minute behind a line of non-competing vehicles. Sadly it appears that this convoy may have been associated with another crew. The incident meant that Evans/Jones could only finish in third place.

The cars of two of the three top crews, Neil Weaver/Sam Collis and John Davies/Dale Bowen, succumbed to gearbox failure within miles of the Start. While Jamie Jukes/Edryd Evans rolled their Astra on the first section, delaying a number of the following crews.