rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

22nd Leukaemia Historic Rally

Ecurie Cymraeg

11th May 2013

Clerk of the Course: Steve Durbin & Kevin Chaffey

Route: 160 Miles + 14 Tests

Maps: 161 & 171

Starters: 48

Winners: Matt Warren/Cath Woodman (Ford Escort Mexico)

Matt Warren/Cath Woodman emerged from a daylong battle with Jon Wood/Mark Appleton to win the Leukaemia Historic Rally, the fourth round of the HRCR Clubmans championship.

The two crews were evenly matched throughout the day, with only a few seconds separating them on all of the regularity sections. On the tests Warren/Woodman had the upper hand, they were the faster of the two crews on thirteen of the day’s test, however this advantage was negated when they dropped over a minute to Wood/Appleton on the first test at the St Modwen Estate, the former Llanwern Steelworks.

It was the Jogularity Section within St Modwen’s that decided the matter as Wood/Appleton, who were leading at the time, picked up 30 seconds more penalty than their rivals. This meant that Warren/Woodman secured the win by 26 seconds at the Finish.

Howard Warren/Iain Tullie were just behind this battle for most of the day but a Wrong Test at St Modwen’s saw then finish in a lonely third place.

Owen Turner, one of the most successful Endurance Rally drivers, proved himself to be equally skilled as a navigator as he guided Alan Wakeman, to victory on the Leukaemia Targa Rally.