rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Mid Wales Stages

Sponsored by Rally Marketing

Newtown & District Automobile Club

3rd March 2013

Clerk of the Course: Chris Tomley

Stages (Historic & 55 Stages): 5 Stages (55 Stage Miles)

Stages (45 Stages): 4 Stages (45 Stage Miles)

Location: Hafren, Sweet Lamb, Tarenig & Myherin

Starters (55 Stages): 61

Starters (Historic): 27

Starters (45 Stages): 48



Category 1 Results

Category 2 Results

Category 3 Results


Alex Allingham/Chris Williams took victory by almost exactly a minute on the Rally Marketing Mid Wales Stages. At the halfway point the Impreza N10 crew had been chasing the Impreza WRC of Bob Ceen/Andy Bull. After a run through Pike’s Peak and Myherin the latter pairing had pulled out a lead of 11 seconds, however this came to nought on the next stage, a 16½ mile test in Hafren, when their car’s turbo failed.

Their departure allowed Allingham/Williams to extend a 13 second advantage over Luke Francis/John H Roberts to 47 seconds after SS3 and to a minute at the Finish. Both Francis/Roberts and Sara Williams/Dai Roberts, who finished in fifth, suffered punctures on SS1.

There was a day long battle between Keith Parry/Eyrl Evans and Kevin Rowledge/Andrew Bargery. Rowledge held the advantage after Pike’s Peak but Parry went ahead in Myherin and managed to maintain a narrow lead to the end.

Reigning Welsh Road Champions Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones showed that they have a similar pace in the woods as they do on the roads. They were competing in the Escort that had taken them to third place on the 1000 Lanes Road Rally the previous night. They were the leading two wheel drive crew, and eighth overall, after SS2 but then retired with engine problems in the second half of the event.

The honour of top two wheel drive car, and therefore the Martin Lewis Trophy, went Jimmy Nicholas/Tim Hobbs who took their Vauxhall Corsa to tenth place overall and the win in the small car class.

Two fancied crews failed to make it to the start of SS1; Wug Utting/Max Utting and Richard Edwards/Gareth Edwards retired on the run out, both due to engine maladies.