rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Powys Lanes Rally

Sponsored by DG Jones Agri Ltd

Epynt Motor Club

2nd/3rd November 2013

Clerk of the Course: Ceri Davies & Doody Farmer

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 147, 148 & 161

Starters: 65

Winners: Irfon Richards/Michael Gilbey (Ford Escort)

Irfon Richards/Michael Gilbey emerged as clear winners of Powys Lanes, an event run in treacherously wet and windy conditions. Their lead of just under two minutes at Petrol was cut by almost half at the Finish after they went off the road on the last section.

Steve King/Jon Hawkins lost time on the test that opened proceedings with a ECU fault. This was fixed and they just held on to runner up spot despite a last minute charge from Stefan ‘DR’ Davies/Dafydd Evans.

The rally was the last round of the Welsh Championship. The overall title had already been won by Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones, who missed the Powys Lanes as they prepare for the RAC Rally. Mark ‘GT’ Roberts, who held second place in the series, failed to make the start after being sidelined by a knee operation. This meant that Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts could take that place from ‘GT’ if he could score maximum points on the final round. He failed to do this after picking up a puncture and losing three minutes. He and Gwawr Hughes finished in fifth.