rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Mike Darowen

Sponsored by Davies Motorsport Services

Dovey Valley Motor Club

1st/2nd February 2014

Clerk of the Course: Richard 'Tyson' Morris

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 124, & 135

Starters: 70

Winners: Hywel Davies/Steve Herbert (Ford Escort)

After an 18 month layoff Steve Herbert returned to his winning ways when, aided by driver Hywel Davies’s extensive local knowledge, he won the Rali Mike Darowen. The pair dominated the event, finishing over three minutes ahead of the Seat of Robert Pugh/Phil Pugh.

The rally started and finished on the coast but in between crews venture up to Llanuwchllyn and back. The heavy rain showers stopped just prior to the start of the event but the expectation was still for very wet roads; this proved to be incorrect as the strong wind dried out the lanes. Conditions were still reported to be slippery however.

The first half of the rally proved to be a ding dong battle between Davies/Herbert and Meilyr Evans/Andrew Edwards; the two crews swapping the lead until the latter pair were slowed and then forced out by a failing fuel pump.

This allowed Davies/Herbert to romp home to the win, while Robert Pugh/Phil Pugh led a group of three cars to take the runner up spot.

This was the third running of the event and for 2014 it had been elevated to Welsh Championship status. Top championship points went to third placed Kevin Kerr/Huw Rhys Manion. Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies, who were also chasing championship points, finished in fourth. Jerman had been a late substitute for Steven John Williams, who was unwell.

Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes were fifth; their progress having been slowed by running first car on the road and acting as the course opener for the last third of the route after the official course car fell behind the pace.

Arwel Hughes-Jones/Edryd Evans had been expected to feature as front runners, however they failed to start after their Civic’s gearbox failed on the way to Tywyn. Top seeds Howard Price/Leigh Powley had a short rally, hitting a bank on one of the opening sections.