rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JJ Brown Memorial Rally

Sponsored by D Jones Roofing Contractors Ltd

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

10th/11th December 2016

Clerk of the Course: Huw Gwyn Jones

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 115

Starters: 58

Winners: Kevin Kerr/Max Freeman (Ford Escort)

Kevin Kerr/Max Freeman had a perfect run as they finished the JJ Brown Memorial Rally with a clean sheet to secure a hard fought victory. Three crews were on zero penalties at the petrol halt, which was taken two-thirds of the way into the 100 mile route. Kerr/Freeman maintained this position to the Finish, while top seeds Iwan Pritchard/Gwawr Hughes dropped seven seconds at one control; they finished as runners up.

Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Dale Furniss were the third crew sharing the lead at the fuel halt but then dropped time at two time controls; this would have left them in third however they also picked up two fails after missing to collect signatures for two code boards.

Gareth Williams/Alan Jones were in fourth place at Petrol, the first crew to have picked up penalties. They were not to see the Finish as a broken drive shaft ended their rally. A similar problem put Mei Jones/Daniel Jones out at the fifty mile mark while they were clean of any penalty.

Llion Williams/Jon Hawkins moved up from sixth at Petrol to finish in third place at the Finish.