rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Mon

Sponsored by Slaters Llangefni

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

20th/21st September 2014

Clerk of the Course: Paul Morris

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 114

Starters: 75

Winners: Arwel ‘Sbidi’ Hughes-Jones/Dylan John Williams (Ford Escort)

Arwel ‘Sbidi’ Hughes Jones took his second dominant win in as many weeks when he and navigator Dylan John Williams won the Slaters Llangefni Rali Mon.

The pair arrived at Petrol having cleaned all the road sections and had only picked up penalties on the test that opened proceedings. In the second half they did drop time, in one instance, due to meeting a taxi, but still romped home almost 40 seconds clear of the field.

Kevin Kerr/Huw Rhys Manion had led the chase initially, being 12 seconds off the lead at the halfway point. However they were overhauled by Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins, who took the runner up spot and a fistful of valuable Welsh Championship points to keep their series hopes alive. Title favourites Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes finished fourth but didn’t add to their tally as they are now dropping scores and need to finish in the top two to gain any more points.

Any hope that Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies had of the Welsh title disappeared when they retired with a failed clutch in the first half. They were amongst a number of top runners who failed to make the petrol halt: top seeds Tom Edwards/Ianto ‘Fôn’ Jones had their Escort’s engine fail on the opening section, while Andrew Jones/Max Freeman and Iwan Pritchard/Alwyn Jones were forced out by mechanical failures as well.

The top Semi-Expert crew of the night were Geraint Jones/Carwyn Edwards who brought their Peugeot 205 home in seventh place overall.