rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Colman Tyres Rally

Ilkley & District Motor Club

27th/28th August 2016

Winners Photo
Winners: Graham Hepworth/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Zafira)
Photograph: Chris Ellison Photography

Organiser: Ilkley & District Motor Club

Date: 27th/28th August 2016

Clerk of the Course: Ian Mitchell

Route: 170 Miles

Maps: 98, 99 & 104

Starters: 32

The Vauxhall Zafira doesn’t rate highly in the pantheon of great motorsport successes but that’s the vehicle that Graham Hepworth/Iain Tullie used to take victory on the Colmann Tyres Rally. It proved to be a tough event with torrential rain and mist, combined with demanding sections over the Catterick Ranges, creating a severe challenge for crews.

Dave Leadbetter/Cath Woodman were only eight seconds behind the winners at the halfway point, but a missed board in the second half demoted that crew to third behind Geoff Goodwin/Sam Spencer at the Finish.

None of the top three starters made the finish; Richard Hunter/Gary Evans and Richard Hemmingway/Sam Collis ended their rallies in the ditch, while Tony Harrison/Paul Taylor succumbed to clutch failure.