rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

36th Devil's Own Rally

Kirkby Lonsdale Motor Club

8th October 2016

Winners Photo
Winners: Winners: Guy Woodcock/Andy Pullan (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Copyright © Tony North

Organiser: Kirkby Lonsdale Motor Club

Date: 8th October 2016

Clerk of the Course: Kevin Savage

Route: 180 Miles + 8 Tests

Maps: 96, 97 & 98

Starters: 54

Guy Woodcock was called in by Matt Warren with just 12 hours to spare to drive his unconquered Escort and to partner Andy Pullan on the Devil’s Own Rally. Woodcock/Pullan went on to dominate the tough event, coming home almost three minutes ahead of the field.

The Kirkby Lonsdale Motor Club event was returning to the HRCR Clubman Championship after a ten-year break and the organisers decided on a unique format for the series - starting at lunchtime and running the rally into the night, the second half being entirely in the dark.

Andy Beaumont/Andrew Fish set the early pace, but a cone fault denied them the lead and then a broken shaft ended their rally. Despite fears of rustiness, Woodcock had hit the front after the batch of five tests that opened the event. Then, with Pullan’s usual superb performance on the regularities, the pair charged away to victory.