rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Eagle Road Rally

Sponsored by Nigel Pugh Motor Engineering & Viking Motorsport

Newtown & District Auto Club

4th/5th June 2016

Winners Photo
Winners: Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins (VW Golf GTi)
Photograph: Joseph John Gilbertson

Organiser: Newtown & District Auto Club

Date: 4th/5th June 2016

Clerk of the Course: Gary Mitchell & Gareth Morgan

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 136

Starters: 72

Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins held off a late charge from Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes to win the Eagle Road Rally. The latter crew had been over two minutes behind at the petrol halt, which was taken at two-thirds distance. However, they narrowed the gap to just six seconds at the Finish, but just missed out on the win.

Kevin Davies/Dale Bowen had been in second place at Petrol but retired in the second half. Dale Furniss/Nick Bloxham were also a non-finisher due to a broken exhaust on their Golf.

It was a tough event with just 31 of the 72 starters making the finish.