rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Night Owl Rally

Sponsored by Cambrian Hyundai

Aberystwyth & District Motor Club

16th/17th April 2016

Winners Photo
Winners: Lewis Morgan/Max Freeman (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Philip Griffiths

Organiser: Aberystwyth & District Motor Club

Date: 16th/17th April 2016

Clerk of the Course: Irfon Richards

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 90

A tough Night Owl Rally was won in dominant style by Lewis Morgan/Max Freeman. They romped home more than two minutes ahead of the field as many rivals fell by the wayside.

At the petrol halt, taken at around the two-thirds distance, the winners led but would have had Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes just seven seconds behind, however Hughes had made an uncharacteristic error and booked in four seconds early at one time control. This mistake gave her a fail, the first in over two years of competition, and, with no prospect of a top result, she and Roberts withdrew.

Reian Jones/Michael Gilbey moved up from fourth at the fuel halt to take the runner up spot ahead of Dale Furniss/Nick Bloxham in an overheating Golf.

John Davies/Aled Richards retired after their Astra got beached on a small hedge and Steffan ‘DR’ Davies/Dylan Jenkins were forced out by rear suspension failure.