rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Barcud Road Rally

Sponsored by Sunnyhill Inn, Tregaron

Barcud Motor Club

12th/13th August 2017

Winners Photo
Winners: Kevin Davies/Andrew Edwards (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Brian Gilbert

Organiser: Barcud Motor Club

Date: 12th/13th August 2017

Clerk of the Course: Paul Rooke, Rhydian Ebenezer & David Owen

Route: 97 Miles + 1 Test

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 90

The Barcud Road Rally was won in dominant style by Kevin Davies/Andrew Edwards. The rally opened with a test at Pontrhydfendigaid where Daniel Jones/Gerwyn Barry and Andy Davies/Lee Taylor blitzed the field, leaving the eventually winners in third, 25 seconds off the lead. However, both of these leading crews retired soon afterwards; Jones with engine maladies and Davies with a failed starter motor.

Davies/Edwards therefore arrived at Petrol with a 1m50s lead over George Williams/Nick Bloxham. Unfortunately, the latter crew were to retire after mistaking a river for a track. With the top crews cleaning the second half, their demise allowed the winners to extend their lead to over two minutes.

Mike Roberts/Dafydd Sion Lloyd followed up their strong showing on the Eagle by taking second, well clear of Stefan ‘DR’ Davies/Michael Gilbey in third. Welsh Championship leaders Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins lost time in a ditch and finished in seventh place.