rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Alan Jones Memorial Pacemaker Rally

Sponsored by Lennox Electrical

Knighton Motor Club

8th/9th July 2017

Winners Photo
Mark Lennox/Michael Gilbey (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Joseph John Gilbertson

Organiser: Knighton Motor Club

Date: 8th/9th July 2017

Clerk of the Course: Ian Beamond & Steve Price

Route: 117 Miles

Maps: 148

Starters: 51

Mark Lennox made it two wins within seven days after he followed up his Holrus success with a win on the Radnor Pacemaker Rally. His navigator, Michael Gilbey, fitted the event in the midst of the two-day BRC Nicky Grist Stages.

Unusually for a Welsh event, the rally was run under a navigational permit and feature regularity sections throughout. Many crews struggled with the concept. Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Cadog Davies could have won but were unfortunate, along with two other front runners, to pick up a minute penalty for stopping within sight of a timing point. These two crews were well ahead of the rest of the field, who were led by the Puma of Simon Summers/Dilwyn John in third place.

Two leading retirements were Iwan Jones/Darren Ikin, who had their Escort’s rear brakes stick on, meanwhile Richard Hunter/Gary Evans suffered fuel pump failure on their similar car.