rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Classic Tracks Targa Rally

Sponsored by Spencer Enviromental Care Associates Ltd

Llandysul Motor Club

26th May 2019

Organiser: Llandysul Motor Club

Date: 26th May 2019

Clerk of the Course: Galen Howells

Tests: 22

Maps: 145 & 146

Starters: 73

The closely fought Classic Tracks Targa Rally was won at the last gasp by Cadog Davies/Michael Jones. The pair hit the front with just two tests remaining and finished with just a two second victory margin. The event used 22 tests, all farm tracks and all tackled just once.

Breeze Smorthit/Teejay Lewis led for the first two tests, before being overhauled by Chris Hand/Alan James. Smorthit was back in front after Test 6 and remained there for four more tests. He gradually dropped to fifth before an off on Test 19 finished his rally. Hand/James were at the front from Test 10 until Test 20. However, they were never more than a few seconds ahead of the opposition and in the dying stages they were unable to hold off a charging Davies/Jones.

Top seeds John Davies/Eurig Davies would also have been in the mix, but picked up a fail after booking in early at the start of the fourth test.