rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Vale of Clwyd Classic

Clwyd Vale Motor Club

5th September 2015

Winners Photo
Winners: Matt Warren/Andy Pullan (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Copyright © Tony North

Organiser: Clwyd Vale Motor Club

Date: 5th September 2015

Clerk of the Course: Guy Woodcock

Route: 135 Miles. 7 Regularities + 10 Tests

Maps: 116 & 117

Starters: 62

The Clwyd Vale Classic was won by the Escort of Matt Warren/Andy Pullan after a consistent run where they hit the front as their rivals made errors. The best performance over the rally’s six regularity sections sealed their win.

Charles Colton/Ryan Pickering led at the lunch halt, which was taken at roughly the two-thirds mark, but a wrong slot soon after the restart put paid to their chances and they trailed in seventh.

Last year’s winners, Howard Warren/Iain Tullie, took the runner up spot, while 2012 victors Dermot Carnegie/Paul Bosdet were third. They were, in total, the fastest crew over the rally’s ten tests. These two crews were separated by just one second and the positions may have been reversed if Carnegie/Bosdet hadn’t been delayed by a herd of cows on the final regularity.

Fifth place was taken by Steve Entwhistle/Mark Appleton, this was enough for the driver to win the HRCR Championship.