rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Mike Darowen Bro Ddyfi

Sponsored by M L Evans Darowen Ltd

Dovey Valley Motor Club

3rd/4th February 2018

Winners Photo
Winners: Kevin Davies/Michael Gilbey (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Brian Gilbert (Photosport)

Organiser: Dovey Valley Motor Club

Date: 3rd/4th February 2018

Clerk of the Course: Linda Thomas

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 124, 135 & 136

Starters: 68

Kevin Davies/Michael Gilbey took a second successive victory on the Rali Mike Darowen Bro Ddyfi, matching exactly their winning margin of last year. Once again a Welsh Championship round was dominated by Davies’s red Escort; the pair led from the off and no one else came close to matching their pace.

In contrast there was a tight battle for second place; the surprise of the event, Einion Williams/Darren Ikin, led reigning Welsh Champions Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins by just three seconds at Petrol, but managed to extend this to 46 seconds by the Finish. Kevin ‘Penclaw’ Jones/Alan James continued their good run of results to secure fourth and look likely to take their first overall win at some point during the year.

It was a less happy night for George Williams/Daniel Stone, who broke a shaft early on in the event. Dafydd Evans/Carl Jones retired with a broken gear linkage, while the Escort of Steven John Williams/Dafydd Sion Lloyd succumbed to fuel feed problems.