rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Merfyn Hughes Memorial Rali Llyn

Sponsored by Express Motors Commercials

Harlech & District Motor Club

17th/18th March 2018

Winners Photo
Winners: Carwyn Evans/Dylan John Williams (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Sonya Jones Photography

Organiser: Harlech & District Motor Club

Date: 17th/18th March 2018

Clerk of the Course: Emyr Jones & Rhys Jones

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 89

A night long battle for the lead was resolved with Carwyn Evans/Dylan John Williams winning the Merfyn Hughes Memorial Rali Llyn. With the fastest crews dropping time at ten controls through the maze of lanes on the Llyn Peninsula, the winners and second placed Kevin Kerr/Huw Rhys Manion were separated by just four seconds at the Finish; the lead having changed on a number of occasions. Steven John Williams/Paul Roberts completed the Escort top three but were over a minute behind the leading pair of cars.

Fourth place went to Andy Davies/Michael Gilbey, giving them maximum Welsh Championship points for the second event running, and the navigator a perfect 300-point score after three rounds of the series. Their title campaign was helped by the retirement, due to sheared wheel nuts, of Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dylan Jenkins.

Kevin Davies/Owain Davies would have won the rally but were excluded after it was found that they had added a signature to their card for a secret check where they had failed to stop.