rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Cwm Cynfal

Sponsored by Conwy Motorsport Engineering

Bala & District Motor Club

24th July 2022

Rali Cwm Cynfal 2022
Winners: Howard Price/Phil Sant (Subaru Impreza)
Photograph: Aneurin James

Organiser: Bala & District Motor Club

Date: 24th July 2022

Clerk of the Course: Chris Evans

Route: 13 Tests (10 Test Miles)

Base: Trawsfynydd Ranges

Starters: 43

The Rali Cwm Cynfal was run for the first time in three years, with a base at the Trawsfynydd Ranges. The event consisted of 13 tests, seven on the Ranges and six on nearby farm tracks. There were a disappointingly large number of no shows, 12 in total; this reduced the number of starters to 43.

The opening test was a half mile run around the familiar area adjacent to the Service Area. Immediately in trouble was the Fiesta of Tom Thomas/Kevin Kerr; they got out of shape and, after scattering a number, landed on top of a pile of tyres. They lost a minute and half before getting going again.

Dewi Jones/Daniel Jones (Mazda MX5) and Iwan Roberts Jnr/Huw Parry (Toyota Corolla Sport) shared fastest time on the test. Top seeds Howard Price/Phil Sant (Subaru Impreza) hit a cone and the 10 second penalty dropped them to 31st place.

Test 2 used started just before The Triangle and ran down to the Forest End; it was a mile long. Once again Jones/Jones and Roberts/Parry could not be split, both stopping the clock at 2m 42s, three seconds ahead of Iwan ‘Bont’ Roberts/Steve Griffith (Hillman Avenger).

The third test was the eponymous Cwm Cynfal, a half mile track running north from the A470. Price/Sant were fastest by eight seconds here and moved into the top ten for the first time. Roberts/Parry were second fastest and moved into the lead, six seconds clear of Jones/Jones.

Test 4, Felen Rhyd, was a farmyard test near Maentwrog, with large bales defining the route. It was another half mile test. Jones/Jones took fastest time and closed to within three seconds of the lead.

However, Roberts/Parry pulled further ahead on Test 5, as they took second fastest on the one mile test at Dolgain. Price/Sant were quickest over the test and moved up to third, 15 seconds off first place and seven seconds behind second place.

Crews returned to the Ranges for Test 6, which was a reverse of Test 2, running from the Forest End to the approach to the Service Area. Roberts/Griffith were quickest here, but Jones/Jones were only one second slower and took the lead, three seconds ahead of Roberts/Parry.

Brynli Thomas/Sion Rowlands (Peugeot 206) had been equal fastest on Test 4, but their rally came to end on Test 6, when a shaft broke as they pulled away from a Stop Astride.

The final test of the opening half was a reverse of Test 1. Jones/Jones took fastest to extend their lead to five seconds at the lunch halt. The battle of the generations between Roberts Junior and Senior was being led by Junior, who was eight seconds ahead of Senior.

Price/Sant were in fourth place, three seconds off third. The top five was rounded off by previous Cwm Cynfal winner, Deion Atkinson/Aron Jones, who was getting used to their new Mazda MX5.

Dewi Williams/Moi Williams (Peugeot 206), on the navigator’s first rally, were in sixth, having lost out on fifth due to hitting a cone on Test 5. They were to retire with a broken shaft in the second half.

The afternoon session opened repeats of Test 1 and Test 2 on the Ranges. Jones/Jones were quickest on Test 8. Price/Sant put in a time seven seconds quicker than anyone else on Test 9, moving part Roberts/Griffith for third place.

The Subaru pairing were then eight seconds on the return visit to Cwm Cynfal; this put them in the lead. Roberts/Parry were now in second place, seven seconds off the lead, but five seconds ahead of Jones/Jones.

Price/Sant increased their lead by four more seconds on Test 11, Felen Rhyd 2 and maintained it on Dolgain 2, by taking fastest time. Meanwhile Jones/Jones managed to get back past Roberts/Parry to reclaim second place.

The final test was due to be the longest of the event, combining the two Ranges tests into one to give a single 1.6 mile test. Unfortunately, a vehicle movement by an official led to the test being closed before all competitors had been through and it had to be cancelled.

Howard Price repeated his 2019 win on the event; finishing 17 seconds ahead of Dewi Jones/Daniel Jones, with Iwan Roberts Jnr/Huw Parry taking third place and the win in the Clubman event.