rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Glyn Memorial Stages

Sponsored by Pentraeth Subaru

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

19th-20th November 2022

Glyn Memorial Rally 2022
Inter Club Winners: Gareth Edwards/Tim Nunn (Darrian T90 GTR+)
Photograph: Islwyn's Motorsport Photography

Organiser: Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

Date: 19th-20th November 2022

Clerk of the Course: James Robertson

Stages: 14 (74 Stage Miles)

Venue: Trac Mon

Starters: 65 (Inter Club), 18 (Juniors)

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey MC received a capacity entry for its Glyn Memorial Rally, held, as usual, at Trac Mon. As well as the Inter Club event, there was a well-supported Junior Rally, which had been included in the Junior 1000 Ecosse once again. The Inter Club event was also a round of the HRCR Mini Sport Cup, with ten crews taking the start.

The two day rally had eight stages planned for Saturday and six more on Sunday. The first day was dry, if a little chilly later on, and many drivers complained that they were having difficulty choosing the correct tyre for the conditions.

There were 65 starters in the Inter Club event and 18 in the Juniors. Barry Morris, who was running at Car 3 in his Darrian, had been on the reserve list until the middle of the week and had to take the overnight ferry from Dublin to get to the circuit.

Fastest on the opening stage were Harlech Stages winners, Gareth Edwards/Tim Nunn (Darrian GTR+), they were one second ahead of top seeds Rob Hughes/Sion Cunniff (Ford Fiesta R5). Barry Morris/Dafydd Evans (Darrian GTR+) were third, setting the partner for the event, as 15 stages later, these were to be the top three finishers in the same order.

It was a bad stage for Rhys Davies/Ben Ruff (Darrian GTR+), they indulged in a spin. They recovered to hold fourth place overall after SS4, when they took fastest time, but then, on the next stage, they came to a halt as the engine dropped a valve.

The prize for the shortest rally went to Richie Hughes/Martyn Quant; their Ford Escort broke a shaft within a mile of the start.

Bob Fowden/Paul Fowden (Subaru Impreza S11) had an unhappy event. They lasted until the end of SS3 when a number wheel nuts sheared; the same problem that had caused their retirement on the same event ten years earlier.

The last two Saturday stages were run in the dark. Despite stating that he didn't like driving stages in the dark, by the end of the day Edwards/Nunn had built up a lead of 46 seconds over Hughes/Cunniff; having taken seven fastest stage times from eight. By this point Morris/Evans were almost a minute off the lead in third place.

Fourth place was now held by Wayne 'Tar' Jones/Jonathan Davies (Darrian GTR), who were battling to secure the Welsh Tarmac Championship, with Dave Willett/John Davies being their only remaining challengers. Jones/Davies had spun on the first stage, but then, having adjusted the anti-lag to their liking, upped their pace and were matching Hughes/Cunniff by the end of the day. They were now three positions ahead of Willett/Davies; this was enough to give Jones his title, but was one place short of what Davies required.

On SS4, in an effort to save weight, Wil Owen/Chloe Louise Thomas (Ford Escort) had decided to run without a spare wheel. This proved to be an error; they picked a puncture, and, with strict rules on running on the circuit with a deflated tyre, were stranded. Meanwhile a broken strut put the Skoda Fabia of Thomas Cooper/Paul Williams out on SS5.

In the 1600cc Class the Citroen Saxo of Sion Jones/Gethin Williams held a healthy category lead and were in tenth place overall. Jonathan Davies/Chris Row (Vauxhall Corsa) led the up to 1400cc Classes. Both these crews were to go on win their classes the following day.

Sunday dawned bright and dry, but rain showers could be seen in the distance over the Llyn Peninsula. The track was beginning to get damp as the Inter Club competitors took the circuit just before 10:00.

Hughes/Cunniff took fastest times on all of the first four stages, meaning that, with two stages, they were only five second off the lead. This led to a dramatic SS13, which run in treacherously slippery conditions.

As they came on to the Club Circuit Start/Finish straight, Hughes/Cunniff spun on to the grass and struggled to regain the tarmac. Remarkably, at exactly the same moment Edwards/Nunn spun at the Banking Hairpin and stalled the engine. Both crews thought that they had thrown away the event, however, they both recorded exactly the same stage time and remained five seconds apart.

This left the matter to be decided on the final four mile stage. Hughes/Cunniff took fastest time, but Edwards/Nunn managed to be four seconds behind, meaning that they secured victory by the margin of a single second.

Barry Morris/Dafydd Evans indulged in a big spin on the final test, but still came home in a clear third place, 45 seconds behind the winners.

Wayne 'Tar' Jones finished in fourth and secured the Welsh Tarmac title, although co-driver Jonathan Davies had to give best to John Davies in their series battle.

Daniel Jones took the Under 25 Award in the Welsh Championship. He was using a borrowed Opel Manta for the event; his first time in a rear wheel drive machine. He lost over a minute on the last stage on Saturday Night after main beam fuse blew; he completed the test on side lights.

Only four of the HRCR Mini Sport contenders made the finish. One of the non-finishers was Clive King/Anton Bird (Cooper S), they had already tied up the championship prior to the Glyn, their season ended with gearbox failure on SS7. It was Callum Powell/Robert Wainwright (Cooper S) who took the class win, their first score of the year.

David Burden led the Glyn Memorial Junior Rally for the first eleven stages, but Oliver Phillips had never been far behind and took the lead on SS12, then cantered away to win by 22 seconds. Burden, who had already secured the English Championship and had sold the car in which he was competing, decided not to fight the issue.

Glyn Memorial Junior Stages 2022
Junior Winners: Oliver Phillips/Barry Young (VW Up)
Photograph: Islwyn's Motorsport Photography